Semana Santa 2023

Holy Week 2023

Holy Week 2023 1920 1080 Seu de Manresa

Holy Week is one of the most important moments in the Christian liturgical year and can be placed between the Friday of Sorrows (the Friday before Palm Sunday) and Easter Sunday. This festivity commemorates the Passion, Death and Resurrection of Jesus Christ.

This year, the parishes of Santa María de la Seu and of the Church of el Carme participate very actively in the Easter events. Here you can find the agenda of events and visiting hours:

Sunday March 26: Sunday before Palm

  • 6:00 pm: Viacrucis (the Way of the Cross).
  • 7:00 pm: Mass

Wednesday March 29

  • 8:00 pm: Opening speech of Holy Week at Plana de l’Om.

Sunday April 2: Palm Sunday

  • 10.45am: Blessing of Palms and mass of the Lord’s Passion in la Seu.
  • 12:00 noon: Blessing of Palms and mass of the Lord’s Passion in the church of el Carme.
  • 7:00 pm: Mass.
  • 8:00 pm: Procession of Silence through the streets of Historic Center.

Tuesday April 4

Thursday April 6: Easter Thursday

  • In the morning there is no mass and the afternoon mass is celebrated at 8:30 pm: Dinner Mass (unified Seu and Carme).
  • 7:00 pm: Concert by Qvinta Essençia in the church of el Carme (poster and ticket sales).

Friday April 7: Good Friday

  • 11:00 am: Viacrucis
  • 5:30 pm: Passion (unified Seu and Carme): in the church of el Carme.
  • 8:00 pm: Good Friday procession.

Saturday April 8: Easter vigil

  • 11:30 pm: Easter vigil (unified Seu and Carme).

Sunday April 9: Easter Sunday

  • 11:00 am: Easter mass.
  • There is no mass at 7:00 p.m.

Opening hours for tourist visits:

  • Sundays, 26 March, 2 April: tourist visits from 12 noon to 2:00 pm.
  • From Monday, 3 April to Thursday, 6 April: regular tourist visits (from 10:30 am to 1:30 pm and from 4:00 pm to 7:00 pm).
  • Friday, 7 April: tourist visits from 12 noon to 2:00 pm.
  • Saturday, 8 April: regular tourist visits (from 10:30 am to 2:00 pm and from 4:00 pm to 7:00 pm).
  • Sunday, 9 April: tourist visits from 12 noon to 2:00 pm.
  • Monday, 10 April: regular tourist visits (from 10:30 am to 2:00 pm and from 4:00 pm to 7:00 pm).